Principal Investigator

Hugo Sanabria

Dr. Hugo Sanabria is an Associate Professor in the Department of Physics and Astronomy at Clemson University. He graduated from Tec of Monterrey, Mexico, with a B.S. in Physics Engineering. He pursued an M.S. and Ph.D. in Physics at the University of Houston under Dr. John H. Miller’s supervision. His thesis was on applications of dielectric spectroscopy to study biopolymers. Dr. Sanabria got awarded a Keck Fellowship from the Gulf Coast Consortia for his postdoctoral research with Dr. M. Neal Waxham at the University of Texas Health Science Center in Houston. There he studied Ca2+ signaling proteins involved in learning and memory processes. Later, he got awarded an Alexander von Humboldt fellowship at Heinrich Heine University, in Germany, under Dr. Claus A. M. Seidel’s supervision, where he developed and enhanced single-molecule methodologies to study the structure and dynamics of proteins. In 2014 he joined Clemson University and, in 2016, he was named CU School of Health Research Faculty Scholar. He is a recipient of the prestigious NSF CAREER award, the 2019 Board of Trustees Excellence award, and the 2019 HORIBA Young Fluorescence Investigator Award. NSF and NIH fund his research program.


Laboratory Technician

Inna Yanez-Orozco

B.S. Physics Engineering
Inna has a B.S. in Physics Engineering and has more than 14 years of experience in biophysics research. She leads research projects with the undergrad students and is responsible of managing the laboratory. She enjoys moonlighthing as a fitness class instructor and a life coach.

Postbaccalaureate Researcher

Penelope Romo Llamas

Penelope graduated from The University of Texas, Rio Grande Valley with a B.S. in Biology. She is the recipient of the NSF REPS program to study DNA repair mechanisms with single-molecule FRET.


Graduate Student

Danielle Latham

Fifth Year PhD Student, Physics


Graduate Student

Rajen Goutam

Fourth Year PhD Student, Physics

Graduate Student

Anay Fernanda Lázaro Alfaro

First Year Student, Physics

Undergraduate Researcher

David Sanders


Undergraduate Researcher

Abigail Poropatich


Undergraduate Researcher

Krushi Patel


Past Member

Dr. Narendar Kolimi

Narendar Kolimi completed B.Sc. in Biotechnology and M.Sc. in Biochemistry from Osmania University, Hyderabad, India. Following this, he received a Ph.D. under the supervision of Dr. Thenmalarchelvi Rathinavelan in the Department of Biotechnology, Indian Institute of Technology Hyderabad, India in 2018. He joined in Dr. Sanabria’s group in December 2018. He is currently working at UMass in the laboratory of Dr. Li.

Past Member

Dr. George Hamilton

Dr. George Hamilton completed his Ph.D. in Spring 2022. He is working as a postdoctoral fellow in the laboratory of Dr. Eli Rothenberg at New York University School of Medicine.

Past Member

Philip Brewer

Philip Brewer graduated in Fall 2020, he joined the lab as a part-time technician from January 2021 to June 2021.

Past Member

Dr. Exequiel Medina

Visiting Scholar and Postdoctoral Fellow – Current position: Postdoctoral fellow, Departamento de Biología, Universidad de Chile, Santiago, Chile.

Past Member

Dr. Junyan Ma

PhD Chemistry, 2017 – Current affiliation: Postdoctoral fellow, College of Chemistry and Chemical Engineering, Anyang Normal University, 455000 Anyang, P.R. China

Past Member

Soheila Rezaei Adariani

M.S. Physics 2016, – Current Position: Postdoctoral fellow at Max Plank Institute of Molecular Physiology, Dortmund, Germany